Arch 108 DC2 Spring 2022

Arch 108 DC2 Spring 2022

Course Description:

This course will focus on 3D modeling of geometric components in Architecture and design. Computer 3D Modeling types covered are: Explicit Modeling, Nurbs Surface Modeling and Basic Computer Rendering 

Syllabus: DC2_Syllabus_SP22

Professors:

Diana Gros

dgros@iit.edu

Zahida Khan

zkhan9@iit.edu

Jenna Staff

jstaff@iit.edu

Alphonso Peluso

peluso@iit.edu

Tuesday Sections TA:
TA info: Samad Vahora svahora@hawk.iit.edu

TA Office Hours: Thursdays in 2pm to 4:30pm in Crown or by Appointment via Zoom

Thursday sections TA:
TA info: Ethan Tsai etsai4@hawk.iit.edu

TA Office Hours: Tuesdays 2pm to 4pm in Crown or by Appointment via Zoom

 

Weekly Schedule
Class 01: 

InDesign Basics – DC1 Portfolio
Basics: Interface, Making a New Document, Layer Setup, Guides, Image Placement, Text, Fonts,
Switching Layers, Duplicate Spread, Facing Pages, Page Numbers

A01: DCII_A01_SP22 – InDesign Basics

Additional Resources:

50 Best Architecture Portfolio Templates

Issuu Architecture Portfolios

Video:

 

Class 02:

2D Polygons _ 2D Tessellations _ CAD WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get)
Drawing Types: Hand, CAD, Photoshop, Hybrid Hand & Digital

A02: DCII_A02_SP22

Reading:

Polyhedra-Primer-Ch1-Pearce-Pearce
Polyhedra-Primer-Ch2-Pearce-Pearce

References:

Pen Techniques

Student Examples: Note (Student examples do not always match the assignment sheet. Some are missing requirements of the assignment)

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

Example 4

Videos:

Class 03:

3D Polyhedra _ 3D Tessellations
Polyhedra: Platonic solids, Dihedral angle, Rotate 3D

A03: DC2_A03_SP22

Reading: Polyhedra-Primer-Ch3-Pearce-Pearce

Student Examples:

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

Example 4

Example 5

Example 6

References:

Pen Hatching and Cross Hatching Examples:

Pen Cross Hatching Tutorial

Polyhedra Video: Dodecahedron Dihedral Angle = 116d34′